How do I: apply eye drops and ear drops

Sometimes it is necessary to put medication prescribed by a veterinarian into a dog’s eyes or ears to clear up an infection.  Care must be taken to not contaminate the container of medication during the process.  It is important to drop the medication freely into the orifice without contact.  These photos demonstrate the technique I use with my own dogs.  I prefer to have the dog restrained by a leash or grooming loop but if you have a really good performer that will sit still for you, it may not be necessary.

photo (a)

As shown in photo (a) for eye drops I use one hand to maintain an open eye and with the other I drop the medication in from above toward the corner of the eye.

photo (b)

As shown in photo (b) for ear drops I use one hand to maintain an open ear and with other I drop the medication into the ear canal rather than the outer ear grooves.

For both types of drops, I take my time and reset our positions until things are lined up just right so that the medication goes right where it should rather than all over the dog’s hair.  Patience pays off and dogs catch on quick to what is needed so they can get on with their day.

One thought on “How do I: apply eye drops and ear drops

  1. Pingback: Shop News: How do I apply eye drops and ear drops? | Eldy's Little Shop

Leave a comment