Diesel Shih Tsu

Diesel came into the shop today for his usual winter trim. I used a 5/8 inch blade for his body. I used the same blade to go down his legs once and followed up with scizzoring to shape them nicely. His ears and tail are just a tidy but most of the time there are so many matts that they end up quite shortened. His face is totally scizzoring as he does not tolerate the clippers any where near his face. It is quite a challenge to scizzor his face…requires a lot of patience and sweet talking. I can use only the blending shears and the snub nose short curved scizzors on his face because of his very fast jerking. Today he did exceptionally well for everything! He was calm for working on his front legs…no freak outs at all.

Diesel all bathed

Diesel dry and ready for trim

I did the best job I have ever been able to manage on his face…mind you I called on all of my patience and cooing skills between each miniscule snip to get it done. He does settle when I rub a finger gently between his eyes. And, today was the best he has ever been about getting his ears plucked. He is quick to bite for this process and I have learned to narrow the bite zone by adding a third grooming loop attached in front of the head at chest level. He did not even lunge at my hands even once today. I was so proud of his behavior…he must be getting used to me as his dog groomer. The shop cats were as helpful and fun as usual. A good time was had by all in the dog grooming shop today.

Diesel grooming complete

Leave a comment