How Do I Keep Up Safety in the Shop

The first thing to consider regarding the safety of the dog is the room temperature of the grooming shop.  The most optimal temperature range to maintain is between 15 degrees C. and 20 degrees C.  Any higher room temperature puts a dog at risk of overheating.  A highly visible thermometer keeps me aware of the temperature.

For times when I groom a dog with large warts, I keep peroxide on hand.  Should a wart get scratched by the brush or clipper and start to bleed, a bit of peroxide and a bit of pressure is all that is needed to stop the bleeding and clean the wart.  Peroxide also comes in handy when a light-colored dog has a nail trimmed too short and bleeds.  I use a styptic powder to stop the bleeding and the peroxide to remove any errant blood stains from hair.

Cleaning clipper blades starts with moving the cutting part of the blade over and brushing away hair and debris.

Next dip the blade while attached to your running clippers into just enough Blade Wash to cover the tip of the blade.

Follow up the washing with a thorough drying. I use my velocity dryer to get the job done. Any moisture left on could result in rust and dullness.

Put a drop of oil on each of the spots on the blade as indicated in the photos while the clipper is running. This prevents your blade from overheating during use.

I spray and wipe my table and equipment with a solution of 1 oz. of Kennel Maid to 1 gal. of water to disinfect all between dogs.  I do the same for the tub.  LemonQuat is another good safe product to use for cleaning and disinfecting surfaces.

Happy Grooming…Got any questions?

One thought on “How Do I Keep Up Safety in the Shop

  1. Pingback: Shop News: How do I keep up safety in the shop? | Eldy's Little Shop

Leave a comment